James receives $1,000 Orscheln 4-H Scholarship

Danielle Jo James, daughter of Mark and Tammy James of Dallas County, recently received a $1,000 Orscheln 4-H Scholarship.

Danielle will be attending Iowa State University where she plans to major in Animal Science and Veterinary Medicine with the ultimate goal of becoming a veterinarian. "I have always had a passion for raising livestock and watching them grow to their full potential." She is a member of Dallas County 4-H where she has been active and successful in livestock judging, communication and leadership projects. "4-H offered various new opportunities for me to explore. Through all of the open doors I was lead to from showing at fairs, to presentations, to serving the community, attending conferences, and livestock judging, I gained countless experiences and knowledge that I will take with me and use throughout life."

University of Nebraska–Lincoln Honor Roll

LINCOLN, Neb. – The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has announced its Deans’ List and Honor Roll for the spring semester of the 2013-14 academic year. Those named included the following area students:

• Dallas Center: Lane Eric Hovey , College of Business Administration Dean’s List, senior, business administration major.

• Waukee: Joshua Thomas Whitmore , College of Business Administration Dean’s List, junior, management major.

• Waukee: Michael Elizabeth Johnson , College of Fine and Performing Arts Dean’s List, sophomore, art major.

• Waukee: Michael Elizabeth Johnson , College of Journalism and Mass Communications Dean’s List, sophomore, journalism major.

Button of Adel named to Culver-Stockton’s President’s List

CANTON, Mo. – Lisa Button, senior accountancy major from Adel, Iowa, was named to Culver-Stockton’s President’s List for work done during the spring 2014 semester.

To be named to the President’s List, Culver-Stockton College requires students to meet high academic standards. President’s List students have earned a 4.0 GPA and were enrolled in a minimum of 12 hours.

BVU Dean’s List

The following students have been named to the Dean’s List for the Spring 2014 semester at Buena Vista University:

• Gwendolyn Walton of Granger

• Jake Lewis of Grimes

• Madison Hoyt of Adel

• Tyler Kastantin of Dallas Center

• Michael Boyle of Perry

Students on the list must have a minimum grade point average of 3.5 for the semester based on a 4.0 grade point system and must have taken at least 12 hours of coursework.