Deb Saylor (teacher at Van Meter Comm. Schools), Amanda Christiansen (teacher at Dallas Center-Grimes), and Becky Pashek (teacher librarian at Waukee) attended the Iowa Reading Association’s leadership training held June 24, 2013 in Ames. The theme of the workshop was "Literacy is All Write". Saylor, Christiansen, and Pashek represented the Dallas County Reading Council at the leadership training. Christiansen is the president, Saylor is the secretary, and Pashek is the Zone E director.

The Iowa Reading Association is an interactive group of individuals interested in reading, who promote literacy through leadership, educational programming and legislative endeavors.

The women also attended the Iowa Reading Conference which was also held in Ames on June 25 and 26. Becky received the Iowa Reading Association Teacher of the Year award which was presented at the awards banquet on Tuesday evening.