Six Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) athletic teams and 37 athletes were honored by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) for their academic achievements during the 2016-17 school year.

DMACC teams so honored included baseball, women’s basketball, cross country, women’s golf, softball and volleyball. All received honorable mention recognition for cumulative grade point averages higher than 3.00. Women’s basketball turned in the best GPA among DMACC athletic teams, compiling a 3.54 GPA. That ranked the Bears eighth nationally and they were the top team among Iowa community college women’s basketball teams.

The cross country team finished with a 3.45 GPA, softball was at 3.43 and volleyball at 3.40. The women’s golf team finished with a 3.05 GPA and baseball was at 3.04.

DMACC athletes earning first-team academic honors included: freshman Bianca Irlbeck of Carroll (volleyball); sophomore Claire Dudek of Urbandale (softball); freshman Elizabeth Atwood of Packwood (women’s basketball); freshman Jamie Jordan of Martensdale (softball); and sophomore Nicholas Kelly of Urbandale (baseball).

Those DMACC athletes earning second-team honors included: freshman Abigail Gehringer of Indianola (softball); sophomore Alana Platte of Fairbank (volleyball); sophomore Alison Meehan of Marcus (women’s basketball); freshman Ashley Kallas of Milwaukee, Wis., (cross country and women’s basketball); freshman Aubrey Schmitt of West Burlington (volleyball); freshman Carson Youngquist of Sussex, Wis., (baseball); sophomore Cassie Harrington of Des Moines (softball); freshman Cheyann Adams of Riverside (softball); freshman Erin Francis of Nevada (volleyball); freshman Joniqua Clark of Cedar Rapids (women’s basketball); sophomore Kelsey Pretz of Columbus Junction (women’s basketball); freshman Lauren Rieck of Ankeny (volleyball); sophomore Mackenzie Sutton of Adel (softball); freshman Molly Everly of Winterset (cross country); freshman Morgan Youngquist of Sussex, Wis., (baseball); freshman Noah Heitshusen of Williamsburg (baseball); sophomore Samantha Hughes of Marshalltown (women’s basketball); sophomore Sydney Robertson of Vinton (softball); and freshman Taylor Briley of Creston (softball).

DMACC athletes earning third-team honors included: sophomore Aaliyah Brown of Crawfordsville (women’s basketball); sophomore Adam Shorkey of Story City (men’s basketball); freshman Alec Holcomb of Owatonna, Minn., (baseball); freshman Autumn McDanel of Moravia (softball); freshman Bailey Richards of Des Moines (softball); sophomore Brendan McGuire of Urbandale (baseball); freshman Kenny Synsmir of South Orange, N.J., (men’s basketball); freshman Leah Paustian of Marshalltown (volleyball); freshman Luke Longmuir of Cottage Grove, Minn., (baseball); freshman Matt Krambeck of Omaha, Neb., (baseball); freshman Molly Jacobsen of Adel (softball); sophomore Ryanna Bales of Mason City (softball); and freshman Tiare Young of Waimanalo, Hi., volleyball).

Athletes with grade point averages of 4.00 earned first-team honors, those with grade point averages of 3.80 to 3.99 received second-team honors and those with grade point averages of 3.60 to 3.79 were named to the third team.