The Van Meter baseball team made waves this summer with 34 victories, a conference title and the team’s first trip to the state tournament in a decade, where they reached the semifinals.

Announced this week, the Bulldogs came away with eight all-Dallas County selections, including first-teamers Zach Prouty, Brandon Brittain, Jake Chevalier and Drake Doud.

Prouty went 9-2 with a 1.73 ERA on the mound for the Bulldogs. He allowed just 35 hits, while striking out 40 in 48 2/3 innings, and held opponents to a .166 average. Brittain led Class 1A in home runs (16), RBIs (68), runs (73) slugging percentage (1.067) and on-base percentage (.686), and was second with a .555 batting average and 66 hits.

Chevalier hit .413 with a .496 OBP, slugging percentage of .541 and one home run and 42 driven in. Doud hit .296, slugged .520 and had 16 extra-base hits, including six home runs, while driving in 37.

Ben Engstrand, Ben Flaherty, Jeremy Helmick and Jake Eslick were tabbed for the second team. Engstrand, the team’s catcher, hit .390 with an OBP of .493, while collecting the second-most hits on the team with 46. He also drove in 30 runs. Flaherty hit .336 with two home runs and 31 driven in. Helmick hit .274 while boasting an OBP of .452 and collecting 32 hits, 51 runs and 21 stolen bases. Eslick hit .324 while scoring 53 runs and drawing 32 walks for an OBP of .482.

A-D-M’s Dylan Nelson, Logan Essy and Grant Goeden were tabbed for the first team. Nelson was 9-1 with a 1.06 ERA and 101 strikeouts in 72 2/3 innings pitched. He also hit .405 with 19 doubles and 27 RBIs.

Essy hit .442 with 19 doubles, 37 driven in and a .605 slugging percentage. Goeden, the team’s shortstop, hit .420 with a .609 slugging percentage and was 21-for-24 in stolen base attempts.

The Tigers’ Kyle Herrick and Jordan Grove were named to the second team. Herrick hit .376 with 44 total hits, including 11 doubles, and drove in 29 runs. Grove hit .336, swiping 24 bases and scoring 35 runs.

Waukee also had three first-team picks in Luke Fegen, Jordan Niehaus and Mick Price. Fegen hit .396 with an OBP of .451 for the Warriors, and finished with 55 hits, 33 runs and 19 stolen bases. Niehaus hit .383 with 46 hits, including eight doubles, and 26 knocked in. Price hit .353, slugged .520 and had four home runs and 24 RBIs.

Matt Hoeg, Kyle Kubiak and Malik Moore were named to the second team. Hoeg hit .383 with an OBP of .471, with five home runs, 27 RBIs and 27 runs scored. Kubiak hit .302 with an OBP of .388 and 32 hits, and Moore wrapped up a sophomore campaign with a 6-0 record, a 0.91 ERA and 59 strikeouts in 46 2/3 innings.

Dallas Center-Grimes, which reached the state tournament for the second year in a row, picked up three selections, including first-team pick Jake Lewis. The senior hit .374 with 42 hits, and also struck out 90 batters in 76 innings pitched.

Tyler Pierson and Justin Carlyle were named to the second team. Pierson, the team’s leadoff hitter, hit .374 with an OBP of .415 and 25 runs scored. Carlyle hit .307 with 35 hits, 26 runs scored and 27 RBIs.

Woodward-Granger’s Andrew McCune was again named a first-team pick. McCune hit .494 with a .775 slugging percentage and .571 OBP. He had 44 hits, including 13 doubles and four home runs, and drove in 31.

McCune’s teammate, Tyler Wiedner, was named to the second team. He went 9-1 on the mound for the Hawks this season, with a 1.26 ERA and 60 strikeouts in 61 innings pitched. He held opponents to a .179 average.

Honorable mentions went to Ethan Herron of A-D-M; Sam Wadsworth and Cole Baker of DC-G’ Logan Crawford, Cody Blackwell and Kurt Sankey of Van Meter; Matt Corbett, Austin Battaglia and Addison Meyers of Waukee; and Jake Smiley and Race Brant of W-G.