The following Waukee Middle School students were selected through nomination (7th grade) and by audition (8th grade) to perform in the South Central Iowa District Honor Band on Nov. 7, 2017. Ankeny Centennial High School hosted this event.

Emily Klaiber, Colson Thayer, Ben Avilez, Spencer Riech and Lauren Parkins received top honors at the district honor band. They will be representing Waukee Praireview School at the 2018 Iowa Bandmasters Annual Conference in May. Mary Crandell (7th grade) and Wayne Page (8th grade) are the directors of these students.