During the Waukee Fire Department’s annual dinner, Clint Stephens was named the 2018 Firefighter of the Year. Chandler Thayer was named the 2018 Medic of the Year. Chief Clint Robinson presented the awards.

Stephens received the Firefighter of the Year honor for maintaining a positive attitude for more than 25 years with the Waukee Fire Department. He always is willing to fill any shift he can, and he consistently helps new firefighters learn the ropes.

Thayer received the Medic of the Year honor for portraying constant enthusiasm for Emergency Medical Services (EMS). He shows a true passion for learning and improving his skills while also going above and beyond to mentor new medics.

Congratulations to these top-notch members of the Waukee Fire Department!

Congratulations are also in order for Lt. Nathan Wise, who received a service award commemorating 10 years of service to the department. Firefighter/Paramedic David Eastman received his 5-year service award.