IOWA FALLS – Four Ellsworth Community College’s Business Professionals of America Club members attended the State Leadership Conference in Des Moines on Feb. 17-18. ECC competed against other Iowa Community Colleges in a wide variety of contests. Qualifying students advance to the national contests May 1-5 in Anaheim, CA.

Officer elections were also held during the conference and ECC’s Isaiah Rono was elected to State President for 2019-2020.

Jovis Shoemaker (Eldora): 1st place in Human Resource Management, 1st place in Ethics and Professionalism, 2nd place in Fundamentals of Word Processing and honorable mention in Parlimentary Procedure Concepts and Project Management Concepts.

Janey Furnald (Clive): 1st place in Intermediate Word Processing, 1st place in Basic Office Systems and Procedures, 1st place in Database Applications and 1st place in Project Management Concepts.

Madison Dennis (Montezuma): 1st place in Small Business Management Team, 4th place in Financial Math & Analysis, 4th place in Parliamentary Procedure Concepts and 5th in Place Business Law and Ethics.

Isaiah Rono (De Soto): 1st place in Small Business Management Team, 4th place in Business Law and Ethics and honorable mention in Business Meeting Concepts.

For the 16th consecutive year, ECC took home the trophy for Corporate Sponsorship, thanks to the generous financial support received from Cort and Peg Van Buskirk.