Dallas County residents will take to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 5 for mayoral and city elections. Mayors running uncontested for re-election include Adel Mayor Jim Peters, Dallas Center Mayor Mitch Hambleton, Dawson Mayor Breanna Morman, De Soto Mayor Nicholas Hasty, Linden Mayor Dave Hutchins, Minburn Mayor Michael Pace, Perry Mayor Jay Pattee, and Redfield Mayor Darci Alt.

Bouton Mayor Tim Hudspeth and Granger Mayor Tom Schenk will not be on the ballot.

Cathy Fuson, Granger’s mayor pro tem, will be seeking the mayoral position.

County residents will also vote for open city council seats including two spots in Adel. Candidates include incumbents Jon McAvoy and Dale Swanson with newcomer Rebecca Hilmer.

All four candidates for Bouton’s upcoming city council elections are running for re-election. Jon Bever, Arlene Greiner, Camilla McCain, and Linda Neville all currently serve on the Bouton city council. Sean Averill is the only current council member not running for re-election. Michael Kidd and Daniel Willrich are vying to fill open council seats in the City of Dallas Center. Heidi Carter and Ryan Kluss are also running for re-election.

Dawson’s ballot includes Willard Brown, Glenda Hiddleson, Dan Hupp, Clarence Morman and Michael Owens for five open council seats.

Jay Button and Kenneth Brant are both are running for the two open seats in DeSoto. Button is running for re-election against newcomer Brant. The only candidate for the two-year term to fill vacancy is Steve Cox who is already on the council and running for re-election as well.

In Dexter, all three of the council chairholders-David Minturn, Jim Pivonka, and Dixie Simpson- are running for re-election this year. David Minturn, Jim Pivonka. Newcomers Donald Craig Carrick and Ray Clayton hope to swipe two of the seats. Tawnee Eckhart and Gregg Wahmann are running against one another for a two-year spot to fill vacancy.

Robert Herrold and Scott Smyth are running for the two available seats on Granger’s council. Newcomer Mike Backous is running for a two-year term to fill vacancy.

June Rector and Ken Smith are vying for two open Linden city council seats.

Citizens will have the option to vote for June Rector and Ken Smith to fill two open council seats in Linden while those in Minburn can vote for up to three individuals including Phyllis Moss and GayLynn Stajcar on their council. A third seat will be filled by a write-in elect.

Perry’s at-large council chair will be filled by a newcomer. Neither Chuck Schott nor Jenny Eklund are running for re-election. Newcomers Brandon Soll and John Adnorf are competing for Perry’s single at-large seat.

Pam Danielson and Heather Godwin-Pote are running for re-election in Redfield. All three of Van Meter’s Council seats will be filled with newcomers after the upcoming election. None of the current council members are running for reelection. Six candidates- Andrew Kendall, Chris Knoll, Michael Peterson, John Seefeld, Owen Stump, and Elizabeth Tweed- are competing for Van Meter’s three seats.

Mike Watts and Shane Blanchard are both running for re-election in Waukee’s upcoming Council elections. They will be running against newcomers Chet Chedester, Brian Harrison, and Rick Peterson. These five candidates will all be competing for only three seats.

Craig DeHoet, Richard Hartwig, and Paul Thompson are all hoping to gain re-election onto Woodward’s city council in the upcoming election. All three currently serve on the council, and all are competing for three empty seats.

The following polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.:

Adel: Adel Public Library, 202 S. 10th St.

Bouton: Bouton Community Center, 110 E. 1st St.

Dallas Center: First Presbyterian Church, 1204 13th St.

Dawson: Dawson Community Building, 208 S. 1st St.

De Soto: De Soto City Hall, 205 Walnut St.

Dexter: Zion Lutheran Church, 209 Marshall St.

Granger: Emmanuel United Methodist Church, 1910 Locust St.

Linden: Linden Lion’s Club, 104 Polk St.

Minburn: United Methodist Church, 705 Chestnut St.

Perry 1: Perry Public Library, 1101 Willis Ave.

Perry 2: Otley Masonic Lodge, 3316 Willis Ave.

Perry 3: McCreary Community Building, 1800 Pattee St.

Redfield: Redfield American Legion, 1116 Thomas St.

Van Meter: United Methodist Church, 100 Hazel St.

Waukee 1: Immanuel Lutheran Church, 900 Warrior Ln.

Waukee 2: Waukee YMCA, 210 N. Warrior Ln.

Waukee 3: Waukee Public Works Building, 805 University Ave.

Waukee 4: Westview Church, 1155 SE Boone Dr.

Waukee 5: St. Boniface Church, 1200 Warrior Ln.

Waukee 6: Waukee School Administration Building, 560 SE University Ave.

Woodward: United Methodist Church, 108 W. 5th St.

Residents are encouraged to check their voter registration card for their polling location or to call the Dallas County Elections office at 515-993-6914.

Any voter who is physically unable to enter a polling place has the right to vote in the voter’s vehicle. For more information, contact the Dallas County Auditor’s Office via phone or email at dcauditor@co.dallas.ia.us.