Voters in Dallas County will decide on Tuesday, Nov. 5 whether to re-elect their respective mayors and city officials back into office. Mayors running uncontested for re-election include Adel Mayor Jim Peters, Dallas Center Mayor Mitch Hambleton, Dawson Mayor Breanna Morman, De Soto Mayor Nicholas Hasty, Linden Mayor Dave Hutchins, Minburn Mayor Michael Pace, Perry Mayor Jay Pattee, and Redfield Mayor Darci Alt.

Two county mayors who are not listed on the ballot for re-election include Bouton Mayor Tim Hudspeth as well as Granger Mayor Tom Schenk, who has served as mayor for 12 years.

However, Granger’s Mayor Pro Tem Cathy Fuson is hoping to continue Schenk’s legacy if elected mayor.

"I think Tom has done a very good job with our city and our time on council and mayor," Fuson said. "I have some pretty big shoes to fill. I don’t foresee wanting to change things up, but I definitely want to focus on growth and making right decisions."

County residents will also vote for open city council seats including two spots in Adel.

Newcomer Rebecca Hilmer will vie for one of two open seats against incumbents Jon McAvoy, who has served on the council for 24 years, and Dale Swanson. McAvoy said if he is re-elected he would like to continue to work on Adel’s economic development and "work on keeping county offices in the historic downtown area."

All four of the candidates of Bouton’s upcoming city council elections are running for re-election. Jon Bever, Arlene Greiner, Camilla McCain, and Linda Neville all currently serve on the Bouton city council. Because there are five seats, there will be one seat empty for a write-in elect. Sean Averill is the only current council member not running for re-election. Michael Kidd and Daniel Willrich are both looking to fill open council seats in the City of Dallas Center. Heidi Carter and Ryan Kluss are also running for re-election but only for a two -year term to fill vacancy.

Dawson residents will have the opportunity to vote for Willard Brown, Glenda Hiddleson, Dan Hupp, Clarence Morman and Michael Owens for five open council seats for the City of Dawson.

Jay Button and Kenneth Brant are both are running for the two open seats in DeSoto’s upcoming city council elections. Button is running for re-election against newcomer Brant. The only candidate for the two -year term to fill vacancy is Steve Cox who is already on the council and running for re-election as well.

In Dexter, all three of the council chairholders are running for re-election this year. David Minturn, Jim Pivonka, and Dixie Simpson are all hoping to hold their spots on the council. However, newcomers Donald Craig Carrick and Ray Clayton hope to swipe two of the seats. Tawnee Eckhart and Gregg Wahmann are running against one another for a two-year spot to fill vacancy.

Two of Granger’s city councilmen are running for re-election in the upcoming elections. Robert Herrold and Scott Smyth are running for the two available seats on Granger’s council. Newcomer Mike Backous is running for a two-year term to fill vacancy.

June Rector and Ken Smith are vying for two open Linden city council seats.

Citizens will have the option to vote for June Rector and Ken Smith to fill two open council seats in Linden while those in Minburn can vote for up to three individuals including Phyllis Moss and GayLynn Stajcar on their council. A third seat will be filled by a write-in elect.

Perry’s at-large council chair will be filled by a newcomer. Neither Chuck Schott nor Jenny Eklund are running for re-election. Newcomers Brandon Soll and John Adnorf are competing for Perry’s single at-large seat.

Experienced councilwomen Pam Danielson and Heather Godwin-Pote are running for re-election in Redfield’s upcoming city council elections. The two women are running for the two empty seats on Redfield’s city council.

All three of Van Meter’s Council seats will be filled with newcomers after the upcoming election. None of the current council members are running for reelection. Six candidates— Andrew Kendall, Chris Knoll, Michael Peterson, John Seefeld, Owen Stump, and Elizabeth Tweed — are competing for Van Meter’s three seats.

Mike Watts and Shane Blanchard are both running for re-election in Waukee’s upcoming Council elections. They will be running against newcomers Chet Chedester, Brian Harrison, and Rick Peterson. If elected, this will not be Chedester’s first time dealing with the Waukee Council. Chedester served as mayor of Waukee in the early 1990s. These five candidates will all be competing for only three seats.

Craig DeHoet, Richard Hartwig, and Paul Thompson are all hoping to gain re-election onto Woodward’s city council in the upcoming election. All three currently serve on the council, and all are competing for three empty seats.

The following polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.:

Adel: Adel Public Library, 202 S. 10th St.

Bouton: Bouton Community Center, 110 E. 1st St.

Dallas Center: First Presbyterian Church, 1204 13th St.

Dawson: Dawson Community Building, 208 S. 1st St.

De Soto: De Soto City Hall, 205 Walnut St.

Dexter: Zion Lutheran Church, 209 Marshall St.

Granger: Emmanuel United Methodist Church, 1910 Locust St.

Linden: Linden Lion’s Club, 104 Polk St.

Minburn: United Methodist Church, 705 Chestnut St.

Perry 1: Perry Public Library, 1101 Willis Ave.

Perry 2: Otley Masonic Lodge, 3316 Willis Ave.

Perry 3: McCreary Community Building, 1800 Pattee St.

Redfield: Redfield American Legion, 1116 Thomas St.

Van Meter: United Methodist Church, 100 Hazel St.

Waukee 1: Immanuel Lutheran Church, 900 Warrior Ln.

Waukee 2: Waukee YMCA, 210 N. Warrior Ln.

Waukee 3: Waukee Public Works Building, 805 University Ave.

Waukee 4: Westview Church, 1155 SE Boone Dr.

Waukee 5: St. Boniface Church, 1200 Warrior Ln.

Waukee 6: Waukee School Administration Building, 560 SE University Ave.

Woodward: United Methodist Church, 108 W. 5th St.

Residents are encouraged to check their voter registration card for their polling location or to call the Dallas County Elections office at 515-993-6914.

Any voter who is physically unable to enter a polling place has the right to vote in the voter’s vehicle. For more information, contact the Dallas County Auditor’s Office via phone or email at