The Waukee wrestling team had one of the best team performances of the year throughout the 2017-18 season and it was rewarded with a berth in the State Dual Wrestling Meet as the No. 3 seed at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines on Wednesday, Feb. 14. After defeating No. 6 Iowa City, City High in the first round and No. 2 West Des Moines Valley in the semifinals, the Warriors were forced to settle for second, falling to No. 1 Fort Dodge 40-28.

It was the Warriors that looked like the dominant team to start the Championship dual against the Dodgers, winning five of the first eight matches and holding a 25-13 lead with six matches to go. The Dodgers outscored the Warriors 29-3 the rest of the way, however.

In the final six matches of the dual, the Dodgers recorded three pins, a win by forfeit and a sudden victory to take home the Dual State Title.

Overall the Warriors recorded three wins by fall, one win by major decision and two by decision.

Recording pins for the Warriors were Anthony Zach at 170 pounds, Nathan McDonald at 285 pounds and Kyle Biscoglia at 126 pounds. Brandon Tessau won a 15-7 major decision at 182 pounds and Nick Miller (113 pounds) and Mason Seifried (160 pounds) recorded wins by decision.

Waukee had the advantage the whole time in the semifinals as they beat the Valley Tigers 38-27. They recorded three wins by fall, one win by technical fall and five by decision.

Zach (170), Biscoglia (126) and Brock Parker (145) recorded pins against the Tigers, Lucas Uliano (106) recorded a 16-0 technical fall and Seifried (160), Tessau (195), McDonald (285), Nick Miller (120) and Cody Anderson (132) recorded wins by decision.

The first round dual was a blowout in favor of the Warriors, as they blew out Iowa City, City High by a score of 41-27.

The Warriors won four matches by fall, two by major decision and three by decision. Zach (170), Tessau (182), Biscoglia (120) and Parker (145) recorded pins for Waukee, Jared Johnson (195) and Anderson (126) recorded major decision victories and Miller (113), Uliano (106) and McDonald (295) each won by decision.

Eight Waukee Warriors began their Traditional State Tournament run on Thursday, Feb. 15 at Wells Fargo Arena. The State qualifiers from Waukee include Uliano, Miller, Biscoglia, Anderson, Parker, Zach, Tessau and McDonald.