What started as a dominant indoor track season has concluded the same way as the Waukee High School girls track team wrapped up the indoor season from Central College in Pella this past Saturday.

Yet again the Waukee girls peppered the top 10 in multiple events to the tune of 24 top ten finishes including eight top five finishes. All in all, the Warriors took at least a top ten finish in 12 events.

Out of the eight top five finishes, a pair of second place finishes were had, one by Lily Campbell in the 400 meter dash (59.56 seconds) while the other second place finish took place in the 60 meter hurdles thanks to Anna Keplinger and her time of 9.56 seconds. The 60 meter hurdles proved to be a strong event for Waukee who ended with four more runners in the top ten including Addelinn Drees in third, Janjay Peters in fourth, Abby Vogel in eighth, and Ellen Keplinger in tenth.

Perhaps the biggest of all the many highlights for the Warriors included junior Kat Moody who bested the field of 72 to earn first place with a toss of 12.62 meters.

Other individual highlights for Waukee included Emma Schossow’s sixth place finish in the 60 meter dash (8.42 seconds), Margaux Basart’s sixth place finish in the 1500 meter run (5:31.57), and Lydia Bettis’s fourth place finish in the long jump with a mark of 4.77 meters.

The success flowed into the team relay events with five top ten finishes. Pacing that bunch was the 4 x 400 meter relay team comprised of Janjay Peters, Anna Keplinger, Ainsley Schlicher, and Lily Campbell placing first with a time of 4:13.29. Other relay event highlights for the Waukee girls consisted of the 4 x 800 meter relay team of Sophia Hueser, Frances Loeffelholz, Emma Shepard, and Abby Kinney placing fifth (10:32.11), and the 4 x 200 meter relay team of Emma Schossow, Ellen Keplinger, Abby Vogel, and Lydia Bettis taking sixth (1:56.28).

Next up for the Waukee girls track team will be their first outdoor endeavor of the season with a home meet on Tuesday, March 27. The meet will initiate at 4:30 pm and will include a six team field including Ames, Ankeny High School, Des Moines Hoover, Indianola, Des Moines Roosevelt, and Urbandale.