Burlington High School's Reese Wissinger went 4-for-6 for the night, but No. 3 (Class 3A) Assumption swept a Mississippi Athletic Conference baseball doubleheader over the Grayhounds, 5-1 and 15-5, at Davenport Thursday night.

Wissinger and Assumption's Donovan Juarez were the only players to get two hits in the first game. The Grayhounds led 1-0, but wouldn't score again.

Mason Leinbach and Wissinger each went 2-for-3 for Burlington in the second game. Blaise Rosson doubled for the Grayhounds. Assumption scored nine runs in the first inning.

Assumption improved to 26-9. Burlington is 12-18.




WP — Nick Gotilla. LP — Reece Wissinger. Two or more hits — Burlington: Wissinger 2-3; Assumption: Donovan Juarez 2-3. 2B — Seth Adrian (A). RBI — Danny Topping (B), Jayce Levy (A), Brandon Schlichting (A), Adam Metivier (A) 2.


Burlington;102;110;—; 5; 7;4


WP — Ryan Wohlers. LP — Riley Gilpin. Two or more hits — Burlington: Mason Leinbach 2-3, Wissinger 2-3; Assumption: Nick Gotilla 2-5, Seth Adrian 2-3, Daniel Powers 3-4, Jayce Levy 2-4, Wohlers 2-4, Adam Metivier 2-4. 2B — Blaise Rosson (B), Adrian, Jeremy McIntoch (A). HR — Adrian. RBI — Wissinger 2, Drake Parks (B), Rosson, McIntosh, Adrian 2, Donovan Juarez (A) 2, Levy 3, Wohlers, Brandon Schlictiing (A), Metivier.

Records — Burlington 12-18, Assumption 26-9.

NO. 8 NEW LONDON 3, CENTRAL LEE 0: Britt Noel and Sam Loyd combined for a one-hit shutout and No. 8 (Class 1A) New London clinched the SEI Superconference South Division title at New London.

Shae Summerfield hit a solo homer for the Tigers. Noel was the winning pitcher, giving up no hits and two walks in five innings. Loyd relieved, giving up one hit and no walks in two innings.

Central Lee;000;000;0;—;0;1;3

New London;100;011;x;—;3;6;1

WP — Britt Noel. HR — Shae Summerfield. RBI — Sam Loyd (NL), Summerfield.

MEDIAPOLIS 10, LONE TREE 0: Brennan Breuer fired a one-hitter and the Bulldogs blanked the Lions in a SEI Superconference North Division game at Lone Tree.

Breuer walked none and struck out 11. He had a no-hitter going for five and two-thirds innings, then Lone Tree's Avery Knock singled. The game ended after six innings via the mercy rule.

Ben Wolgemuth led Mediapolis at the plate with a double, two singles and two RBIs in three at bats. Zach Osborne went 2-for-3.

Mediapolis won the North Division championship with a 12-1 mark and finished the regular season at 22-5 overall.


Lone Tree;000;000;—;0; 1;5

WP — Brennan Breuer. LP — Harmon Miller. Two or more hits — Mediapolis: Zach Osborne 2-3, Ben Wolgemuth 3-3. 2B — Wolgemuth. RBI — Osborne, Nick Ensminger (M), Levi Eberhardt (M), Alex Diewold (M), Wolgemuth 2, Breuer, Drayven Fenton (M).

WEST LIBERTY 10, L-M 7: West Liberty jumped out to a 4-0 lead in the first inning and Louisa-Muscatine couldn't catch up in a non-conference game at Letts.

Karson Cantrell, Zack Bieri and Tyler Carter each had two hits for Louisa-Muscatine.

W Liberty;402;130;0;—;10;11;2

L-M;100;051;0;—; 7; 9;4

LP — Keatyn Velez. Two or more hits — Louisa-Muscatine: Karson Cantrell 2-3, Zack Bieri 2-4, Tyler Carter 2-4. 2B — Carter, Cantrell, Bieri, Jackson Soy (LM). RBI — Cantrell 3, Bieri 2, Mason McCulley (LM).


KEOKUK 14, FORT MADISON 2: Abby Arrowood and Abbie Thompson both homered and Keokuk ousted Fort Madison in the Class 4A regional quarterfinal game at Keokuk.

Abby Arrowood, winning pitcher Jakala Hall, Keleigh Hall and Hallo Arrowood each had two hits for the Chiefs. Abby Arrowood finished with three RBIs.

Olivia Williams and Sadie Smithburg both went 2-for-3 for Fort Madison. Williams doubled. Cassie Powers was the losing pitcher.

Keokuk (17-18) advances to Saturday's 7 p.m. semifinal against seventh-ranked North Scott (25-13) at Eldridge.

Ft Madison;101;00;—; 2; 6;2


WP — Jakala Hall. LP — Cassie Powers. Two or more hits — Fort Madison: Olivia Williams 2-3, Sadie Smithburg 2-3; Keokuk: J Hall 2-3, Abby Arrowood 2-4, Keleigh Hall 2-2, Hallo Arrowood 2-3. 2B — Williams, K Hall. HR — A Arrowood, Abbie Thompson (K). RBI — Kamryn Bailey (FM), Maycee Featheringill (FM), Michaela Davis (K), J Hall, A Arrowood 3, K Hall, H Arrowood 2, Grace Koeber (K), Thompson.

Records — Fort Madison 11-24, Keokuk 17-18.

FAIRFIELD 13, MOUNT PLEASANT 1: Shaylin Drish went 3-for-4 with a home run and five RBIs to lead the Trojans past Mount Pleasant in a Class 4A regional quarterfinal at Fairfield.

Allison Rebling was the winning pitcher and gave up just two hits — singles by Lyndi Vantiger and Trinity Krabill. Savana Walls drove in Mount Pleasant's run on a sacrifice fly.

Fairfield advances to Saturday's semifinal against sixth-ranked Oskaloosa at Oskaloosa.

Mt Pleasant;010;0;—; 1; 2;6


WP — Allison Rebling. LP — Keelyn McNamee. Two or more hits — Fairfield: Shaylin Drish 3-4, Hannah Simpson 2-3. HR — Drish. RBI — Savana Walls (MP), Drish 5, Simpson 2, Lily Hoskins (F).

Records — Mount Pleasant 13-26, Fairfield 17-23.