Yesterday the world of ADM High School athletics officially etched four names into the ADM Athletic Hall of Fame with the announcement of the 2019 hall of fame class.

The list included three players and a legendary head coach in the form of Norene Groff Heaps, Wesley Nordquist, Jim Peters, and Bill Shields.

Norene Groff Heaps was a multiple sport athlete at Adel High School and was part of the class of 1977. She was a second team All-State softball, third team All-State basketball member and acquired a single game career high 60 points during basketball while earning a state track meet medal in the process. Heaps was also a six time victor in at the state hurdles event.

Wesley Nordquist, class of 2009, was a two sport athlete at ADM taking on the sports of basketball and football. Nordquist was a first team All-State basketball member and a member of two conference championship teams. He was an integral part of the third place state basketball tournament squad and finished second in career rebounding in ADM school history. Nordquist was also a more than solid wide receiver in football where he hauled in 666 receiving yards and nine touchdowns in his final football campaign.

The third name on the coveted list is that of Jim Peter, a letter winning basketball, football, track, and cross country athlete that wowed fans all over at ADM High School. Peter was an All-State honorable mention in football and team captain of the state qualifying basketball team. That went along with Peter earning an honorable mention state basketball honor.

The final name on the list is the transcendent head soccer coach Bill Shields. Shields was the soccer pioneer at ADM high school, starting what would be an annual powerhouse program back in 1988 with 18 players. Since then he has since been inducted into the Iowa High School Soccer Coaches Hall of Fame. Under his tutelage, ADM boys soccer has acquired three conference championships and seven state tournament appearances with a fourth place finish in 2012.

All of these well deserving recipients will be honored on August 8 2019 at 7 p.m.