With the Iowa high school girls state tournament finished and the boys’ state tournament just underway, the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association decided to release the All-Region and All-Sub-state teams for the 2018-19 edition.

Starting on the girls side, there were six area athletes and one coach who earned even more postseason honors across the schools of Van Meter, ADM, and Dallas Center-Grimes, and Waukee.

Along with their All-West Central Activities Conference honors, Van Meter junior Clair Lauterbach and senior Emily Roberts earned Class 2A All-Region 7 honors. Out of the entire group, Lauterbach led the six player Region 7 field with 70 three point baskets made, also ranking 14th across the entire state. Lauterbach averaged 15.1 points per game and shot 43 percent from the field while Roberts collected 10.8 points per game on 38 percent shooting from the field.

There were two names residing inside the Class 4A All-Region field with DC-G star Jordan Cunningham and ADM junior Abbie Hlas. Cunningham, also an Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union third team All-State honoree, has earned an honor in every level and across every awards publication. The Fillie junior posted 17.7 points per game on 49.5 percent shooting from the field. Her field goal shooting rose above all others within the Region 2 ranks. Alongside Cunningham was ADM junior Abbie Hlas who posted 14.6 points per game and shot 46 percent from the field, one of the better marks within the Class 4A Region Eight bracket.

Inside the Class 5A Region Seven bracket, it was either Waukee or Iowa City West who earned such honors and those Waukee members who earned All-Region were seniors Paityn Rau and Anna Brown. Rau ranked second among all Region Seven shooters in points per game with 14 and ranked fifth in free throws made with 65. Teammate Anna Brown came off a season just one three point basket shy of breaking the all-time school record and paced the entire Region Seven field with 59 treys put up this season. For his efforts in guiding the Warriors to their tenth consecutive state tournament appearance, Warrior head coach Chris Guess was named Region Seven Coach of the Year.

On the boys side with All-Sub-state honors, Van Meter, Woodward-Granger, ADM, and Waukee all had individuals who earned such awards.

Van Meter’s own Ryan Schmitt and Anthony Potthoff earned such honors. Schmitt has poured in nearly 15 points per game this season on 56.9 percent shooting which led the entire District 10 and Sub-state 5 fields. Potthoff captured 14.5 points per game through the season and shot 51 percent from the field. For his efforts in leading Van Meter to their third straight state tournament appearance, head coach Jed Alexander was named Sub-state 5 Coach of the Year.

Woodward-Granger’s Bryce Achenbach and Noah Hoyt were named to the All-Sub-state 7 field. Achenbach averaged 14.1 points per game while Hoyt tallied 13.7 in his farewell campaign.

In Class 3A, ADM’s Nate Mueller punched in 42 points across two games worth of postseason action to claim his spot on the All -Sub-state 7 roster. In his very first season as a varsity starter, Mueller averaged 15.5 points per game.

In Class 4A, Waukee’s own Dylan Jones and Tucker DeVries were named to the Sub-State 8 team. Jones shot 75 percent from the field on the season and dropped 30 points through the playoffs en route to state. Tucker DeVries scored 17 total points in the two playoff matches, and ended posted 10.5 points per game leading up to the state tournament. For his efforts in coaching the Warriors to their second straight state tournament, coach Ohl was named sub-state eight coach of the year.