In perhaps one of the best turn-around seasons in Iowa High School football over the last decade, the Dallas Center-Grimes football team put forth a season they won’t soon forget.

Helping with that narrative is the fact that 13 DC-G gridiron stars have landed themselves on the Class 3A All-District 2 list. That includes the likes of senior Zach Needham and others including Blake Willey, Jacob Waldron, Jayme Augusma, and Nic Lawton on defense. Offensively, All-District honors went to quarterback Ty Walker, and receivers Isaac Boley, Caden Grimes, and Cody Hall.

The defensive trio of Blake Willey, Jayme Augusma, and Jacob Waldron all earned top-five honors within district two in total tackles. Willey led the Mustangs and ranked second in the district with 87.5 tackles including 12 tackles for loss and four sacks. Fellow teammate Augusma totaled 71 tackles on the season as well as a district-best seven solo sacks. Jacob Waldron added in a district fifth-best mark of 67.5 tackles on the season. Fellow senior Zach Needham earned top ten honors with 53 tackles on the year but also ranked second inside the district in punting where he averaged 36.6 yards per punt. Nick Lawton was also in the mix, totaling 32.5 tackles on the year.

Offensively, the trio of Boley, Grimes, and Hall all were standout receivers for the Mustangs this season. Boley led the team with 383 receiving yards which also ranked third inside the District-2 field. That resulted in five end-zone trips for the senior and an average of 12.4 yards per catch. Junior Caden Grimes was fifth on that list with 320 yards hauled in along with four touchdowns. Cody Hall added in 209 receiving yards with three scores of his own. Under center, Ty Walker took his experience to new heights as he ranked second in District-2 with 1,155 passing yards. That resulted in 14 touchdowns and just eight interceptions while averaging 12 yards per completion. When all was said and done, Walker wrapped up his junior campaign with a quarterback rating of 137.8.

The Mustangs also added in four more honorable mention honorees including running-back Zach Brand, Dillon Belzer, and defensive specialists Trenton Liebe and Gabe Jorgensen who combined for five total interceptions across the 2019 season.

Also well worth noting is the honor bestowed upon Mustang head coach Scott Heitland. The 16-year head coach earned the District-2 Coach of the Year award for taking his team from a one-win squad a year ago, to a nine-win playoff-bound season here in 2019.