Van Meter’s record-breaking football season has resulted in a bevy of all-district selections.

The Bulldogs landed six on the Class 1A all-District 7 first team: quarterback Brandon Brittain, running back Cody Blackwell, wide receiver Logan Crawford, linemen Spencer Benton and Parker Suckow, and defensive back Grant Hoppes.

Brittain threw for 1,747 yards and 17 touchdowns, and ran for an additional 1,177 yards and 17 scores. Blackwell led the Bulldogs with 1,433 rushing yards and 18 touchdowns, and set the school record for rush attempts in a season with 233.

Crawford caught 38 passes for 634 yards and eight touchdowns. Benton (76 tackles, 13 for loss) and Suckow (75 tackles, 14 for loss) anchored the line, and Hoppes collected 50 tackles and seven interceptions.

Ben Flaherty, Bryce Godwin, Ross Wesselmann and Ben Engstrand were named to the second team. Flaherty caught 31 passes for 409 yards and five touchdowns, Godwin set the school record for PATs made with 53, Wesselmann had 34 tackles and two sacks on defense, and Engstrand collected 55 tackles at linebacker.

Colton Boswell, Chase Wyant and Brady Ladd were named honorable mentions.

Van Meter went 12-1 this season, reached the UNI-Dome for the first time in school history and played in its first semifinal game since 1996. The Bulldogs swept through district play with a perfect 6-0 mark en route to the team’s first undefeated regular season since 2001.